Finalists revealed for the 2022 NutraIngredients Awards

By Liza Laws

- Last updated on GMT

NutraIngredients Awards 2022 finalists revealed

Related tags Awards Nutraingredients Award Nutrition industry awards

The finalists of the 8th NutraIngredients Awards have been painstakingly selected by a panel of dedicated judges.

So high was the standard, the task of choosing the top three in each category was no easy feat – and with a new category included, the categories are covering an even more diverse range of topics than ever before.

The awards​ honour the best and brightest in ingredients, companies, finished products, people and initiatives throughout the nutrition and dietary supplements industry.

Becoming a finalist shines the spotlight on every potential winner creating a wealth of opportunities. Winning a prestigious NutraIngredients Award will make companies shine placing them head and shoulders above the rest. All finalists have raised their credibility and put their company, brand and products even more firmly on the map with the potential to draw in new customers and employees to their business.

The winners will be announced at an online ceremony on 4 May ​but until then, we are delighted to announce our very worthy finalists:  

Ingredient of the Year: Beauty from Within


Ceramosides - SEPPIC

SynBalance ProBeautyShield – SYNBALANCE

Ingredient of the Year: Cognitive Function

Cognizin Citicoline - Kyowa Hakko Europe 

affron Pharmactive - Pharmactive Biotech Products 

SynBalance KeepCalm - SYNBALANCE SRL

Ingredient of the Year: Healthy Ageing

LactoLycopene - Cambridge Nutraceuticals

Levagen+ (PEA) - GE Nutrients Inc (Gencor)

affron - Pharmactive Biotech Products

ABG10+ - Pharmactive Biotech Products 

Ingredient of the Year: Prebiotic

Livaux - Anagenix

Bimuno - Clasado Biosciences

PROMITOR Soluble Fibre - Tate and Lyle

Ingredient of the Year: Sports Nutrition

CurraNZ New Zealand Blackcurrant Extract - Health Currancy

HydroCurc - Pharmako Biotechnologies 

NEM - Stratum Nutrition

Ingredient of the Year: Weight Management


LipoSan - Ultra Primex Iceland

Capsimax - OmniActive Health Technologies

Product of the Year: Botanical

5 HTP+ - Cambridge Nutraceuticals

Fuca Regularidad – Uriach

Balance Support complex – Fountain House - Home to the brand Foondiert

Product of the Year: Immune Support​ 

ColoDan Whole Colostrum - Biodane Pharma

Vitamin C 24-Hour Liposomal Hydrogel Formula

Quevir Life Extension - PharmExtracta

Product of the Year: Omega-3

OcuProtect Retina - Cien por Cien Natural

EasyFishoil - EasyVit


Product of the Year: Probiotic


GutMagnific - ImmuneBiotech

Floré by Sun Genomics - Sun Genomics

Product of the Year: Sports Nutrition

Pura Collagen Flex+ - Pura Collagen

CurraNZ New Zealand Blackcurrant Extract - Health Currancy

Beet It Sport Nitrate 400 Shot - James White Drinks

Editors Award for Functional Food Innovation

Bio-Kult Brighten - ADM Protexin

Oliveheart: guaranteed High Polyphenols Extra Virgin Olive Oil - in an innovative, sustainable and protective Tetra Prisma Aseptic

ChitoCare beauty Hair, Skin & Nails - Primex Iceland

Innovation in Women’s Health Award

Bio-Kult Pro-Cyan - ADM Protexin

Osfortis ATCC PTA 6475 - BioGaia 

Libifem - GE Nutrients Inc (Gencor)

Nutrition Research Project

Developing the science behind NIAGEN - ChromaDex’s Patented Source of Nicotinamide Riboside, for cellular health - ChromaDex

Identifying and Developing a New Natural Immune Ingredient with Clinically Proven Health Benefits -NutriLeads 

The cholesterol lowering efficacy of Lactobacillus plantarum ECGC 13110402 in hypercholesterolemic adults: a double-blind, randomized, placebo controlled, pilot human intervention study - ProBiotix Health (subsidary of OptiBiotix Health) 

Personalised Nutrition Initiative

vitcheck - total health and wellbeing 

NGX BodyFuel - Nutri-Genetix (NGX)

Nutritionally complete personalised meals - abnormal 

Start-Up Award


Zestt Wellness - Zestt Wellness 

Advanced Biotics 

Now the panel of 13 experts​​ from the nutrition industry will have the very difficult job of selecting the winners.

Kavitha Sivasubramaniam, Senior Editor of NutraIngredients and awards judge, said: “This year, many of us judges had a tough time in determining the finalists and were extremely impressed by the submissions we reviewed.

"The standard of the entries we received was incredibly high and all those shortlisted for the NutraIngredients Awards 2022 should be extremely proud of their achievement. Congratulations to everyone who made the cut and we look forward to revealing the winners at our online awards ceremony in May.”

The other judges for the NutraIngredients Awards of 2022 include:

  • Jens Bleiel, Independent Food Innovation Consultant for Bleiel Ltd
  • Will Chu, Science Editor at NutraIngredients
  • Patrick Coppens, Director of Regulatory & Scientific Affairs at Food Supplements Europe
  • Sandra Einerhand, PhD, Founder of Einerhand Science & Innovation BV
  • Mal Evans, PhD, Chief Scientific Officer at KGK Science Inc.
  • Joerg Gruenwald, Founder & CEO for analyze & realize GmbH
  • Ewa Hudson, Director of Insights at Lumina Intelligence
  • Wenche Emblem Larssen, Research Manager for Møreforsking AS
  • Miguel Toribio-Mateas, Lecturer at London South Bank University
  • Steve Osborn, Food Technology Scout & Commercial Development Director at The Aurora Ceres Partnership
  • Lloyd Parker, Head of Nutrition at Everton Football Club

Related news

Show more

Follow us


View more